ACADEMIC CALENDAR


CLAS | CGES | Columbia-Forum


College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Fall Semester Fall 2019 Fall 2020
Faculty & Staff Fall Workshop Thursday, August 15, 2019 Thursday, August 13, 2020
Freshmen Arrive Friday, August 16, 2019 Friday, August 14, 2020
Upperclassmen Return Sunday, August 18, 2019 Sunday, August 16, 2020
Registration Validation Monday, August 19, 2019 Monday, August 17, 2020
Classes Begin Monday, August 19, 2019 Monday, August 17, 2020
Last Day to Add an online course (Term I) Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Convocation Thursday, August 22, 2019 Thursday, August 20, 2020
Last Day to Add & Drop w/o “W” Friday, August 23, 2019 Friday, August 21, 2020
Labor Day (no classes all day) Monday, September 02, 2019 Monday, September 07, 2020
Family Weekend Saturday, September 21, 2019  
Homecoming Weekend Saturday, October 19, 2019 Saturday, September 26, 2020
Mid-Term Grades Due Tuesday, October 15, 2019 Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Fall Break (no classes all day) Monday, October 14, 2019 Monday, October 12, 2020
Pre-Registration for Spring Begins Tuesday, October 15, 2019 Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Term 2 Begins Monday, October 21, 2019 Monday, October 19, 2020
Last Day to Drop Courses w/”W” Friday, November 22, 2019 Friday, November 13, 2020
Thanksgiving Recess Begins  Saturday, November 23, 2019 Saturday, November 21, 2020
Thanksgiving Recess Ends  Sunday, December 01, 2019 Sunday, November 29, 2020
Last Day of Classes Friday, December 06, 2019 Friday, December 04, 2020
December Commencement Saturday, December 07, 2019 Saturday, December 05, 2020
Final Exams  Dec. 9-13, 2019 (M-F) Dec. 7-11, 2020 (M-F)
Final Grades due by 8 a.m. Monday, December 16, 2019 Monday, December 14, 2020
Students may view grades on myCMU Wednesday, December 18, 2019 Wednesday, December 16, 2020

 

January Term Jan. 2020 Jan. 2021
Registration for ONLINE January Classes Wednesday, October 16, 2019 Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Regular Registration (non-online January classes) Wednesday, October 16, 2019 Tuesday, October 13, 2020
ONLINE January Session Begins Monday, December 16, 2019 Monday, December 14, 2020
January Session Ends Friday, January 10, 2020 Friday, January 08, 2021
Final Grades due by 8 a.m. Monday, January 13, 2020 Monday, January 11, 2021
Students may view grades on myCMU Wednesday, January 15, 2020 Friday, January 15, 2021

 

Spring Semester Spring 2020 Spring 2021
Residence Halls Open Sunday, January 12, 2020 Sunday, January 10, 2021
Registration Validation Monday, January 13, 2020 Monday, January 11, 2021
Classes Begin  Monday, January 13, 2020 Monday, January 11, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (no classes) Monday, January 20, 2020 Monday, January 18, 2021
Last Day to add an Online Course (Term III) Wednesday, January 15, 2020 Wednesday, January 13, 2021
Last Day to Add & Drop w/o “W” Friday, January 17, 2020 Friday, January 15, 2021
Mid-Term Grades Due Monday, March 09, 2020 Monday, March 08, 2021
Pre-Registration for May, Summer, & Fall Monday, March 09, 2020 Monday, March 08, 2021
Term IV Begins Monday, March 16, 2020 Monday, March 15, 2021
Spring Recess Begins Saturday, March 21, 2020 Saturday, March 20, 2021
Spring Recess Ends Sunday, March 29, 2020 Sunday, March 28, 2021
Service Day—no classes except labs Thursday, April 02, 2020 Thursday, April 01, 2021
Good Friday (no classes all day) Friday, April 10, 2020 Friday, April 02, 2021
Last Day to Drop Courses w/”W” Friday, April 24, 2020 Friday, April 16, 2021
Last Day of Classes Friday, May 01, 2020 Friday, April 30, 2021
Number of classes per semester    
Final Exams May 4 - 8, 2020 (M-F) May 3-7, 2021 (M-F)
Commencement (Fayette) Saturday, May 09, 2020 Saturday, May 08, 2021
Final Grades due by 8 a.m.  Tuesday, May 12, 2020 Monday, May 10, 2021
Students may view grades on myCMU Wednesday, May 13, 2020 Wednesday, May 12, 2021

 

College of Graduate & Extended Studies

Graduate Aug. 19 - Dec. 13, 2019 Aug. 17 - Dec. 11, 2020
Last day to add a course Fri., Aug. 23, 2019 Fri., Aug. 21, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Nov. 22, 2019 Fri., Nov. 13, 2020
Labor Day Holiday Mon., Sept. 2, 2019 Mon., Sept. 7, 2020
Thanksgiving Break Nov. 23 - Dec. 1, 2019 Nov. 21 - Nov. 29, 2020
Final Grades due by 8:00 a.m. Mon., Dec. 16, 2019 Mon., Dec. 14, 2020
EXFA: 16-week Aug. 19 - Dec. 13, 2019 Aug. 17 - Dec. 11, 2020
Last day to add a course Fri., Aug. 23, 2019 Fri., Aug. 21, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Nov. 22, 2019 Fri., Nov. 13, 2020
Labor Day Holiday Mon., Sept. 2, 2019 Mon., Sept. 7, 2020
Thanksgiving Break Nov. 23 - Dec. 1, 2019 Nov. 21 - Nov. 29, 2020
Final Grades Due by 8:00 a.m. Mon. Dec. 16, 2019 Mon., Dec. 14, 2020
Term 1 (T1): 8-week Aug. 19 - Oct. 11, 2019 Aug. 17 - Oct. 9, 2020
Last day to add a course Wed., Aug. 21, 2019 Wed., Aug. 19, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Oct. 4, 2019 Fri., Oct. 2, 2020
Final Grades Due by 5 p.m. Wed., Oct. 16, 2019 Wed., Oct. 7, 2020
Term 2 (T2): 8-week Oct. 21 - Dec. 13, 2019 Oct. 19 - Dec. 11, 2020
Last day to add a course Wed., Oct. 23, 2019 Wed., Oct. 21, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Dec. 6, 2019 Fri., Dec. 4, 2020
Final Grades Due by 8 a.m. Mon., Dec. 16, 2019 Mon., Dec. 14, 2020
January Term: 4-week Dec. 16, 2019 - Jan. 10, 2020 Dec. 14, 2020 - Jan. 8, 2021
Last day to add a course Wed., Dec. 18, 2019 Wed., Dec. 16, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Jan. 3, 2020 Mon., Jan. 4, 2021
Final Grades Due by 8 a.m. Mon., Jan. 13, 2020 Mon., Jan. 11, 2021
Graduate Jan. 13 - May 8, 2020 Jan. 11 - May 7, 2021
Last day to add a course Fri., Jan. 17, 2020 Fri., Jan. 15, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., April 24, 2020 Fri., April 16, 2021
Spring Break March 21 - 29, 2020 March 20 - 28, 2021
Grades Due by 8:00 a.m. Tue., May 12, 2020 Mon., May 10, 2021
EXSP: 16-week Jan., 13 - May 8, 2020 Jan. 11 - May 7, 2021
Last day to add a course Fri., Jan. 17, 2020 Fri., Jan. 15, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., April 24, 2020 Fri., April 16, 2021
Spring Break Mar. 21-29, 2020 March 20 - 28, 2021
Grades due by 8 a.m. Tue., May 12, 2020 Mon., May 10, 2021
Term 3 (T3): 8-week Jan. 13 - March 6, 2020 Jan. 11 - March 5, 2021
Last day to add a course Wed., Jan. 15, 2020 Wed., Jan. 13, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., Feb. 28, 2020 Fri., Feb. 26, 2021
Final Grades Due by 5 p.m. Wed., March 11, 2020 Wed., March 10, 2021
Term 4 (T4): 8-week March 16 - May 8, 2020 March 15 - May 7, 2021
Last day to add a course Wed., March 18, 2020 Wed., March 17, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., May 1, 2020 Fri., April 30, 2021
Final Grades Due by 8 a.m. Tue., May 12, 2020 Mon., May 10, 2021
EXSU: Undergraduate: May 11 - Aug. 14, 2020 May 10 - Aug. 13, 2021
1st, 3-week session (S1): Undergraduate May 11 - May 29, 2020 May 10 - May 28, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed., May 13, 2020 Wed. May 12, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Friday, May 22, 2020 Fri., May 21, 2021
1st, 4-week session (S2): Undergraduate June 1 - June 26, 2020 June 1 - June 18, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed., June 10, 2020 Wed. June 2, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Fri., June 19, 2020 Fri., June 18, 2021
8-week session (S8): Undergraduate June 1 - July 24, 2020 June 1 - July 23, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed., June 3, 2020 Wed., June 2, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Fri., July 17, 2020 Fri., July 16, 2021
2nd, 4-week session (S3): Undergraduate June 29 - July 24, 2020 June 28 - July 23, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed., July 1, 2020 Wed., June 30, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Fri. July 17, 2020 Fri., July 16, 2021
2nd, 3-week session (S4): Undergraduate July 27 - Aug. 14, 2020 July 26 - Aug. 13, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed., July 31, 2020 Wed., July 28, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Fri., Aug. 14, 2020 Frid., Aug. 6, 2021

Columbia-Forum

This calendar is for onsite, seated classes.

Fall Semester Fall 2019
Fall 2019 enrollment begins May 1, 2019 (T)
Fall 2019 classes begin Aug. 19, 2019 (M)
Last day to Add & Drop Aug. 28, 2019 (W)
Labor Day (no classes) Sep. 2, 2019 (M)
Thanksgiving recess begins (no classes) Nov. 23, 2019 (Sa)
Thanksgiving recess ends Dec. 1, 2019 (Su)
Last day to drop a course/withdraw Nov. 22, 2019 (M)
Last day of class (final examinations) Dec. 9 (M)-Dec. 13, 2019 (F)
Final Grades DUE Dec. 16, 2019 (M)
Spring Semester Spring 2020
Spring 2020 enrollment begins Oct. 1, 2020 (M)
Spring 2020 classes begin Jan. 21, 2020 (T)
Last day to Add & Drop Jan. 30, 2020 (R)
Spring Recess Begins Mar. 21, 2020 (Sa)
Classes resume after Spring Recess Mar. 30, 2020 (M)
Last day to drop a course/withdraw Apr. 24, 2020 (F)
Last days of class (final examinations) May 4-8, 2020 (M-F)
Final Grades DUE May 11, 2020 (M)
Summer Session (8-week session) Summer 2020
Summer (8-week session) enrollment begins Mar. 2, 2020 (F)
Summer (8-week session) classes begin Jun. 8, 2020 (M)
Last day to Add & Drop Jun. 11, 2020 (W)
Independence Day recess Jul. 3, 2020 (R)
Last day to withdraw from an 8-week course Jul. 24, 2020 (F)
Summer (8-week session) classes end Jul. 31, 2020 (F)
Final Grades DUE Aug. 3, 2020 (M)
Summer Session (first 4-week session) Summer 2020
Summer (4-week sessions) enrollment begins Mar. 2, 2020 (F)
Summer (first 4-week session) classes begin Jun. 8, 2020 (M)
Last day to withdraw from a 4-week course Jun. 26, 2020 (F)
First 4-week summer session end Jul. 3, 2020 (F)
Independence Day recess Jul. 4, 2020
Final Grades DUE Jul. 6, 2020 (M)
Summer Session (second 4-week session) Summer 2020
Summer (4-week sessions) enrollment begins Mar. 2, 2020 (F)
Summer (second 4-week session) classes begin Jul. 6, 2020 (M)
Last day to withdraw from a 4-week course Jul. 24, 2020 (F)
Second 4-week summer session end Jul. 31, 2020 (F)
Final Grades DUE Aug. 1, 2020 (M)