Academic Calendar

Fayette Campus (CLAS) Online & Extended Studies (CGES) Columbia - Forum Location
2020 - 21 2020 - 21 2020 - 21


College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Fall Semester Fall 2020
Freshmen Arrive Saturday, August 15, 2020
Upperclassmen Return Saturday, August 15, 2020 (after 12 p.m.)
Registration Validation Monday, August 17, 2020
Classes Begin Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Last Day to Add an online course (Term I) Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Last Day to Add & Drop w/o “W” Friday, August 21, 2020
Labor Day (CLASSES IN SESSION) Monday, September 07, 2020
Family Weekend CANCELED
Homecoming Weekend CANCELED
Mid-Term Grades Due Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Fall Break (CLASSES IN SESSION) No Fall Break in 2020
Pre-Registration for Spring Begins Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Term 2 Begins Monday, October 19, 2020
Last Day to Drop Courses w/”W” Friday, November 13, 2020
Instruction and final exams will be remote after Thanksgiving. Residence halls and dining services remain open until Dec. 11.
Thanksgiving Recess Begins  Saturday, November 21, 2020
Thanksgiving Recess Ends  Sunday, November 29, 2020
Instruction and final exams will be remote after Thanksgiving. Residence halls and dining services remain open until Dec. 11.
Last Day of Classes Friday, December 04, 2020
Winter Commencement November 21, 2020
Final Exams  Dec. 7-11, 2020 (M-F)
Final Grades due by 8 a.m. Monday, December 14, 2020
Students may view grades on myCMU Wednesday, December 16, 2020
January Term Jan. 2021
Registration for ONLINE January Classes Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Regular Registration (non-online January classes) Tuesday, October 13, 2020
ONLINE January Session Begins Monday, December 14, 2020
January Session Ends Friday, January 08, 2021
Final Grades due by 8 a.m. Monday, January 11, 2021
Students may view grades on myCMU Friday, January 15, 2021
Spring Semester Spring 2021
Residence Halls Open Saturday, January 16, 2021
Registration Validation Monday, January 18, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (no classes) Monday, January 18, 2021
Classes Begin  Monday, January 19, 2021
Last Day to add an Online Course (Term III) Thursday, January 21, 2021
Last Day to Add & Drop w/o “W” Friday, January 22, 2021
Random day of Solace (no classes) Tuesday, February, 23, 2021
Mid-Term Grades Due Monday, March 15, 2021
Pre-Registration for May, Summer, & Fall Monday, March 15, 2021
Term IV Begins Monday, March 15, 2021
Spring Recess Thurs., March 18 - Sun., March 21, 2021
Service Day (CLASSES IN SESSION) CANCELLED
Good Friday (no classes all day) Friday, April 02, 2021
Last Day to Drop Courses w/”W” Friday, April 16, 2021
Last Day of Classes Friday, April 30, 2021
Final Exams May 3-7, 2021 (M-F)
Commencement (Fayette) Saturday, May 08, 2021
Final Grades due by 8 a.m.  Monday, May 10, 2021
Students may view grades on myCMU Wednesday, May 12, 2021


College of Graduate & Extended Studies
Graduate Aug. 17 - Dec. 11, 2020
Last day to add a course Fri., Aug. 21, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Nov. 13, 2020
Labor Day Holiday Mon., Sept. 7, 2020
Thanksgiving Break Nov. 21 - Nov. 29, 2020
Final Grades due by 8:00 a.m. Mon., Dec. 14, 2020
EXFA: 16-week Aug. 17 - Dec. 11, 2020
Last day to add a course Fri., Aug. 21, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Nov. 13, 2020
Labor Day Holiday Mon., Sept. 7, 2020
Thanksgiving Break Nov. 21 - Nov. 29, 2020
Final Grades Due by 8:00 a.m. Mon., Dec. 14, 2020
Term 1 (T1): 8-week Aug. 17 - Oct. 9, 2020
Last day to add a course Wed., Aug. 19, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Oct. 2, 2020
Final Grades Due by 5 p.m. Wed., Oct. 14, 2020
Term 2 (T2): 8-week Oct. 19 - Dec. 11, 2020
Last day to add a course Wed., Oct. 21, 2020
Last day to withdraw Fri., Dec. 4, 2020
Final Grades Due by 8 a.m. Mon., Dec. 14, 2020
January Term: 4-week Dec. 14, 2020 - Jan. 8, 2021
Last day to add a course Wed., Dec. 16, 2020
Last day to withdraw Mon., Jan. 4, 2021
Final Grades Due by 8 a.m. Mon., Jan. 11, 2021
Graduate Jan. 19 - May 7, 2021
Last day to add a course Fri., Jan. 22, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., April 16, 2021
Spring Break March 18-21, 2021
Grades Due by 8:00 a.m. Mon., May 10, 2021
EXSP: 16-week Jan. 19 - May 7, 2021
Last day to add a course Fri., Jan. 22, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., April 16, 2021
Spring Break March 18-21, 2021
Grades due by 8 a.m. Mon., May 10, 2021
EXSP: 14-week Jan. 19 - April 23, 2021
Last day to add a course Fri., Jan. 22, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., April 16, 2021
Grades due by 8 a.m. Mon., May 10, 2021
Term 3 (T3): 8-week Jan. 19 - March 12, 2021
Last day to add a course Thurs., Jan. 21, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., March 5, 2021
Final Grades Due by 5 p.m. Wed., March 17, 2021
Term 4 (T4): 8-week March 15 - May 7, 2021
Last day to add a course Wed., March 17, 2021
Last day to withdraw Fri., April 30, 2021
Final Grades Due by 8 a.m. Mon., May 10, 2021
EXSU: Undergraduate: May 10 - Aug. 13, 2021
1st, 3-week session (S1): Undergraduate May 10 - May 28, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed. May 12, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Fri., May 21, 2021
1st, 4-week session (S2): Undergraduate June 1 - June 25, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed. June 2, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Fri., June 18, 2021
8-week session (S8): Undergraduate June 1 - July 23, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed., June 2, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Fri., July 16, 2021
2nd, 4-week session (S3): Undergraduate June 28 - July 23, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed., June 30, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Fri., July 16, 2021
2nd, 3-week session (S4): Undergraduate July 26 - Aug. 13, 2021
Last day to add a course: Wed., July 28, 2021
Last day to withdraw: Frid., Aug. 6, 2021


Columbia - Forum
This calendar is for onsite, seated classes.
Fall 2020
Fall 2020 enrollment begins Monday, March 2, 2020
Fall 2020 classes begin Monday, August 24, 2020
Last day to Add & Drop Monday, August 31, 2020
Labor Day (no classes) Monday, September 7, 2020
Last day to drop a course/withdraw Friday, November 13, 2020
Thanksgiving recess begins (no classes) Saturday, November 21, 2020
Thanksgiving recess ends Sunday, November 29, 2020
Last days of class (final examinations) Monday, December 7-Friday, December 11
Final Grades DUE Monday, December 14, 2020
Spring 2021
Spring 2021 enrollment begins Thursday, October 1, 2020
Spring 2021 classes begin Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Last day to Add & Drop Tuesday, January 26, 2021
Spring Recess Begins Saturday, March 27, 2021
Classes resume after Spring Recess Monday, April 5, 2021
Last day to drop a course/withdraw Friday, April 16, 2021
Last days of class (final examinations) Monday, May 3-Friday, May 7, 2021
Final Grades DUE Monday, May 10, 2021
Summer 2021 (8-week session)
Summer (8-week session) enrollment begins Monday, March 1, 2021
Summer (8-week session) classes begin Monday, June 7, 2021
Last day to Add & Drop Wednesday, June 9, 2021
Last day to drop an 8-week course/withdraw Friday, July 23, 2021
Summer (8-week session) classes end Friday, July 30, 2021
Final Grades DUE Monday, August 2, 2021
Summer 2021 (first 4-week session)
Summer (4-week sessions) enrollment begins Monday, March 1, 2021
Summer (first 4-week session) classes begin Monday, June 7, 2021
Last day to Add & Drop Tuesday, June 8, 2021
Last day to drop a 4-week class/withdraw Friday, June 25, 2021
First 4-week summer session end Friday, July 2, 2021
Independence Day recess Monday July 5, 2021
Final Grades DUE Monday, July 6, 2021
Summer 2021 (second 4-week session)
Summer (4-week sessions) enrollment begins Monday, March 1, 2021
Independence Day recess Monday, July 5, 2021
Summer (second 4-week session) classes begin Tuesday, July 6, 2021
Last day to Add & drop Wednesday, July 7, 2021
Last day to drop a 4-week class/withdraw Friday, July 23, 2021
Second 4-week summer session end Friday, July 30, 2021
Final Grades DUE Monday, August 2, 2021